Along the road leading to Certaldo is the little village of PETROGNANO, situated on the spot where the ancient city of Semifonte, razed to the ground in 1202, had stood.

On a hill a few hundred meters from Petrognano stands the CHAPEL OF SAN MICHELE, which reproduces in 1:8 scale the cupola of Santa Maria del Fiore. IT was built in 1597 to commemorate the destroyed city of Semifonte and serve as a testament to Florence’s power. All that remains of the city of Semifonte area are a few ruins hidden in the woods or incorporated into houses on the hill.